Skip to main content

Celebrating the achievements of our NHS staff across North Wales

The achievements and success of NHS staff, services and volunteers from across North Wales will be recognised and celebrated at an awards ceremony later this month.

After a two-year hiatus, more than 450 staff, sponsors and guests will attend the Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board Achievement Awards ceremony at Venue Cymru in Llandudno on 21 October.

The annual event has not taken place since 2019 as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic so will come back bigger and better than ever this year, with new award categories to recognise the sacrifice and commitment to support NHS services made during that challenging time.

Jo Whitehead, Chief Executive, said: “We are so pleased to be able to host our Achievement Awards this year and put a spotlight on the incredible things our staff and volunteers have done over the past couple of years.

“Our judging panel had their work cut out as there was some very strong competition this year with more than 300 nominations made. We would like to congratulate our finalists and wish them all the best of luck on the night.

“We would also like to thank all of our sponsors who have made it possible for us to put this event on and give everyone who attends a special night to remember.

This year’s shortlisted finalists are:

  • Leadership Award
    • Jane Williams, Manager - Therapeutic Support Services, Learning Disability Services, Bryn y Neuadd Hospital
    • Beryl Roberts, Head of Nursing, Cancer Services
    • Sioned Prys Thomas, Practice Manager, Hwb Eifionnydd, Criccieth
  • Team Award
    • The COVID-19 Vaccination Team
    • Theatre Recovery / PACU (Post Anaesthesia Care Unit) team, Ysbyty Glan Clwyd
    • BCUHB Rapid Diagnosis Clinics Project Team
  • Diversity, Equality and Inclusion Award
    • Jacqui Learoyd, Speech and Language Therapist, HMP Berwyn
    • Ellen Greer, Acting Associate Director of Organisational Development
    • Rajeev Metri, Registered Nurse and PPCI (Primary Percutaneous Coronary Intervention)  Co-ordinator, Ysbyty Glan Clwyd
  • Transformation and Innovation Award
    • Mohamed Yehia, Consultant Urologist, Wrexham Maelor Hospital
    • Dr Dan Menzies, Dr John Glen, Berwyn Thomas and Geraint Williams, Ysbyty Glan Clwyd
    • Jeanne Dore, Occupational Therapist, Specialist Palliative Care Team, Ysbyty Glan Clwyd
  • Welsh Language Award
    • Dr Sara Hammond Rowley, Gaynor Harding, Stuart Gray, Carys Williams, CAMHS Services, Abergele Hospital
    • Dr Anna MacKenzie, Ysbyty Gwynedd Emergency Department
    • Manuela Niemetscheck, Art Psychotherapist, Ysbyty Gwynedd
  • Volunteer Award
    • Liz Langdon, COVID-19 response volunteer
    • Andy Williams and Buddi the dog, Wrexham Maelor Hospital
    • Lesley Jones, Community Paediatrics, Wrexham Maelor Hospital
  • Partnership Award
    • Pat Evans, User Involvement Facilitator, North Wales Cancer Treatment Centre
    • The Multi Systemic Therapy (MST) Team
    • Aaron Haley, Internal Communications Manager
  • The Extra Mile Award
    • Dawn Owen, Clinical Psychologist, Bryn y Neuadd Hospital
    • Mared Jones-Owen, IV Lead Nurse, Ysbyty Alltwen
    • Gemma Beck, Radiographer, Ysbyty Glan Clwyd
  • COVID-19 Response and Recovery Individual Award
    • Teena Grenier, Medicines Governance Lead Pharmacist, Ysbyty Gwynedd
    • Dr Andy Campbell, Critical Care Clinical Lead, Wrexham Maelor Hospital
    • Viki Jenkins, Heart Failure Advanced Nurse Practitioner, Ysbyty Alltwen
  • COVID-19 Response and Recovery Team Award
    • Public Volunteers across North Wales
    • Team Rainbow Deeside Enfys
    • Critical Care Unit, Wrexham Maelor Hospital

The annual awards are an important part of the way we recognise and celebrate their achievements of our staff and volunteers and made possible thanks to the sponsors who support it. Our sponsors this year are:

  • Centerprise International (principle event sponsor), Medacs, Unite, Unison, Read Construction, Glyndwr University, Bangor University, ID Medical, Gleeds, Health Education and Improvement Wales, Gwynedd Forklift and Ateb.